Hello, my name is Erin, and I am a diabetic.

I got my test results today…I have gestational diabetes.  I’m trying not to throw myself a pity party.  I know it’s not the worst thing that can happen, and I am very thankful that my baby has been just fine through everything that has happened to my body.  Still, hearing that I have a condition that needs constant maintenance at least until I deliver is not easy.  I have an appointment with a diabetes educator on Monday at 2pm, so please pray for me that I am able to absorb all the information that I will need about testing and shots and carbohydrates and everything else.  I am blessed to have Patrick’s expertise in this area, so I guess I am ahead of the game a little.  Even so, it’s just all so strange.

Please pray also that the treatment for my condition will help me with other problems that I have experienced, such as constant extreme weakness and fatigue.  I appreciate all the kind words that I have received.  You have encouraged me very much.

2 Responses to “Hello, my name is Erin, and I am a diabetic.”


  1. 1 soonermama January 25, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    So sorry to hear this – I am sure you will get through this and it is so exciting that you are nearing the end! We’ll keep you in your prayers.

    We had a very fun birthday celebration here and can’t wait to hear about yours. Perhaps you’ll even inspire me to blog… who knows, I get tempted at times. I do like the new format. Feel better soon!

  2. 2 aunteee January 26, 2008 at 11:38 am

    Glad you’re able to see the positive side of this and utilize all of Patrick’s knowledge on dealing with his own condition.

    Here’s a story that might be an inspiration as well. We love you and are praying for you!

    One of my friends had gestational diabetes during this, her second pregnancy. She had been borderline with her first pregnancy so she wasn’t terribly surprised that it happened this time. Her OB readily admitted that blood sugar is not his game and recommended she have an appt with the diabetes clinic at the hospital. The dietitians there helped her with a meal/snack plan and she was able to control the diabetes with her diet alone.

    My friend was often grumpy about having to give up some of her favorite foods, but she did very well with it, I thought. She was able to deliver her second child vaginally at 8 lb 1 oz (her first child was almost a whole pound bigger).

    My friend didn’t get to breastfeed right away as she was having some trouble with bleeding, so her second child had formula for her first 2-3 feedings, but you’d never know because she latched right on and nursed like a pro when she got the opportunity later in the day.

    And my friend’s blood sugar problems went away after delivery, but she really took to heart the things she had learned from the dietitians and is still trying to incorporate it into her diet to help keep her healthy.


Leave a Reply

Calendar

January 2008
S M T W T F S
    Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 2,247 hits

